NOTICE TO THE SECRETARY OF STATE OF AN ABANDONED VEHICLE
BY AN INDEPENDENT ENTITY

ol

In accordance with 29-A, M.R.S.A., Chapter 15, Subchapter lll, | am notifying the Secretary of State that this vehicle

came into my possession on / / .
DATE PLATE & STATE ISSUED

YEAR MAKE MODEL BODY TYPE VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

| towed the vehicle on order of:

NAME

ADDRESS IF INDIVIDUAL OR BUSINESS
Is the vehicle a total loss?

Yes. (The vehicle has no marketable value other than the value of the basic material and parts used in the
construction of the vehicle.) Must complete certificate of salvage title application (MVT-102).

No. Must complete certificate of title application (MVT-2) for vehicles 25 model years and newer.

If the notification to the Secretary of State required by section 1854 (of Title 29-A) is made more than 14 days after receipt of a
vehicle described in section 1851, or if notification is not submitted to the Secretary of State, the person holding the vehicle may not
collect more than 14 days of storage fees ($700.00). Daily storage charges must be reasonable and total storage charges may not
exceed $1,500.00 for a 30-day period. (Title29-A M.R.S.A. chapter 15, subchapter 3, sec.1857)

Charges paid to 3@ Party Independent Entity Charges
Towing: $ . Towing: $
Daily Storage Charge: $ . Daily Storage Charge: $

Repair (Parts & Labor): $ )
(Must provide signed work order)

By signing below, | certify that the information contained herein is true and correct.

SIGNATURE BUSINESS NAME

MAILING ADDRESS CITY/TOWN ZIP CODE

ANY PERSON WHO MAKES A MATERIAL FALSE STATEMENT OR FAILS TO
DISCLOSE REQUIRED INFORMATION IS GUILTY OF A CLASS D CRIME (29A M.R.S.A., §751-4)

INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE

101 Hospital Street, #29 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0029 Tel. (207) 624-9000 Ext. 52138
Fax: (207) 624-9239 TTY Users call Maine Relay 711
MVT-26 (Rev. 10-2023)



INSTRUCTIONS

1. An Application for Certificate of Title (MVT-2) or an Application for a Certificate of Salvage
(MVT-102) for vehicles 25 model years and newer and the $33.00 fee

OR

For title-exempt vehicles, a request for a letter of ownership and $5.00 fee
2. Release statement (MVT-24) from insurance company, financial institution, or dealer

3. VIN Inspection form (MVT-10): must be completed and signed by a full-time law enforcement
officer

4. A signed work order if the vehicle has been repaired

5. Copy of notice to the owner along with the certified mail receipt

Please mail the original documents to the address below Attn: Abandoned Vehicles.
Please make checks payable to the: Secretary of State

101 Hospital Street, #29 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0029 Tel. (207) 624-9000 Ext. 52138
Fax: (207) 624-9239 TTY Users call Maine Relay 711
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